Off New Caledonia 26 Oct 1900 utc

@font-face{font-family:Calibri;panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4;}I decided in the middle of the night to skip New Caledonia. These decisions always seem to happen at night. In the rain. With strong winds. And big seas. This time was no exception. Making landfall, or in this case getting close, always changes the weather. The land disrupts the wind and waves. The visual sight range from Reboot is 3 nm. The clouds over New Caledonia could be seen from 50 miles away. That is how the “iron men in wooden ships” found the islands in the past. I am still close enough to be affected but I can see blue skies ahead. I have about 800 nm to go to Bundeburg, Australia. Depending on the wind this is 7 to 10 days. I do have charts but no cruising guides. I will deal with that when I arrive. The good news is that I will miss 1 1/2 weeks of election coverage. It turns out that one of the most difficult products to find in the South Pacific is kitty litter. The vet in Fiji suggested I use chicken feed. Th
http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/SailboatRacing-Rebootusa60493/~3/_FWCV-X7aes/off-new-caledonia-26-oct-1900-utc.html

Leave a Reply

