The “paywall” and “free” advertising

This is a rant. Be warned…….[rant]I have two modes when it comes to the Internet. When underway or anchorage hopping I tend to ignore it. When it allows me to procrastinate in port I spend far too much time on it. Which brings me to my rant. As someone who travels from country to country I typically buy Internet access by the megabyte. I have concluded that my actual cost of access is 2x to 4x what I actually read. The reason: advertising (I never respond); sign up your friends (I never do); you might be interested in this (I never am); “sponsored posts” (a dimwit name for a paid advertisement that I never respond to); prefetch (downloading content I might look at (but never do) ; memories (that I don t care about); and so forth. The only solution is to avoid those sites. The current environment is worse than watching broadcast TV. So I am disciplining myself to limit my interactions to the absolute minimum. That brings me to the “paywall.” For years the only news web site that re
http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/SailboatRacing-Rebootusa60493/~3/zRgJMXnLz9k/the-paywall-and-free-advertising.html

Leave a Reply

